Reader’s Edyn

I always felt like I could do something more than just read. Finally, I have found both a creative outlet and a chance to do something meaningful with my reading. This blog was created in appreciation of and tribute to all of the authors who have brought me joy through their books. These reviews are my way of giving back to authors and providing recognition for the hard work that each one completes every day!

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Spotlight with author Elise Sax

Spotlight with author Elise Sax



Hello everyone! Today I am featuring one book, but it is the second in series, so I thought it would be nice to tell you about both just in case you hadn't heard of the series before. I know everything is new to me, but that is not a bad thing. I love learning about authors and their books. SO today is another fabulous day where I get to do just that. I hope you all look forward to this post as much as I do. Please allow me to introduce to the blog:



**ELISE SAX**


**BIO**
 
Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris, France. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before trying her hand at writing fiction. She lives in Southern California with her two sons. An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker mystery series, is her first novel.

You can find out more about Ms. Sax in the following places:
Website

Twitter

Facebook

Youtube

Huffington Post

Goodreads



 

**REVIEWS**
 
Praise for An Affair to Dismember
 
Elise Sax’s new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain.”—RT Book Reviews
 
Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie.”—Booklist

Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis
 
In the tradition of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax’s new novel is a funny, sexy ride.”—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind
 
What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more.”—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There’s Cake in My Future



**AN AFFAIR TO DISMEMBER**
**The Matchmaker Series, Book 1**

Genre: Comedic romantic mystery
Publisher: Ballantine (Random House)
ISBN: 978-0345532220
Number of pages: 320
Word Count: About 80,000


**BLURB**
 
Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?


Buy Link
BN




**BOOK TRAILER**




**MATCHPOINT**
**The Matchmaker Series, Book 2**

Genre: Comedic romantic mystery
Publisher: Ballantine (Random House)
Paperback Pages: 288
ISBN: 978-0-345-53224-4
Word Count: About 80,000


**BLURB**

Lovably troublesome Gladie Burger runs into sizzling danger and a fiery love triangle in the second installment of Elise Sax’s hilarious and sexy Matchmaker romance series.
Elise Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out.”—New York Times bestselling author Christie Craig

Since joining the family matchmaking business run by her eccentric Grandma Zelda, Gladie is always looking for love. But when an unbearable toothache knocks her out of commission and into the dentist’s chair, she prays only for relief. No such luck. Emerging from an anesthetic haze, Gladie awakes to find that not only is her tooth still throbbing, but her dentist is dead—and the lead suspect in the murder, office receptionist Belinda, just so happens to be Gladie’s first real client. Now it’s up to Gladie to find Belinda a man and keep her from being locked up behind bars.
As if that weren’t enough distraction, two gorgeous men are vying for Gladie’s attention: Spencer, the playboy chief of police, and Holden, Gladie’s secretive, gorgeously muscled neighbor. Still, Gladie’s not complaining about having a helping hand or two when the case leads her to a dangerously bizarre cult. She may have met her match—and if she’s not careful, it could be her last.


Buy Link




So how does this series sound to you? Have you read the first book before? Is it new to you? Does one book sound better than the other? Are you likely to read it? Your feedback is always welcome so let me know what your thoughts are about the post.

I want to thank Ms. Sax for spending some time with us today. And a huge thanks to all of you who continue to hop in each and every day. I love seeing you all! I hope that you enjoyed your time here as much as I enjoyed creating the post. If you enjoyed what you experienced here today, please consider buying yourself a copy of the book and showing this author support. I hope that you all have a fabulous day and I will be seeing everyone very soon. But until then ...
HAPPY READING!!!




6 comments:

  1. Thanks for sharing. This sounds like great books and I have added them to my TBR. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eva,
      You are more than welcome! I absolutely love to hear when someone chooses to add a featured book to their TBR list. If it is like mine, you may not get to it right away, but you will get to it and adding it ensures that you will read it. Thanks so much for stopping in and good luck to you in the giveaway!

      Delete
  2. Thank you so much for spotlighting me and my series! I had a lot of fun writing these books, and I hope you have a lot of fun reading them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are so welcome, Ms. Sax. Feel free to come back anytime! I can't wait to read these books and based on what I have seen, fun is definitely something that will be included in the reads. I look forward to them.

      Delete
  3. I read An Affair to Dismember and think it was one of the funniest books I have read in years and I go through 4-6 books a week. I'm waiting impatiently for the next one. Elise Sax is HILARIOUS!!!!
    Cindy R.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Cindy,
      I always take into account comment that people leave when they stop in. I thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. It is great to know that I have some fun reads to look forward to in the near future. Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope to see you again and good luck in the giveaway!

      Delete

I lurve comments! Say whatever is on your mind; just keep it respectful. I am always game for a conversation. :)